feeding freiman

wild boar.

leave a comment »

I think that this post is pretty unique and a definite first for “feeding freiman.”  My good buddy, GS is quite a hunter, and one day I received this picture on my phone:

IMG_0835

He had apparently shot quite a large wild boar; just look at the smug grin on his face.  And GS, knowing about my penchant for smoking meats, brought this over for us:

boar3

A 9 pound ham for us to have some with.  We brined it for about 24 hours in salt water seasoned with chili flakes, peppercorns, brown sugar, and, well, you get the idea.    Cooking this meat was a little bit tricky.  Because it was a wild animal and because we were dealing with a ham, there was not a lot of fat marbled throughout the meat.  Typically hams have significantly less fat than, say a butt (shoulder), and this was obviously no exception.  Nonetheless, I did my best and came out with this:

boar4

The meat was very tasty.  There is nothing like eating something that was alive less than a day ago.  For all of you that may be saying, “gross,” please allow me to preach for a bit: would you rather have your meat basically sterilized of flavor packaged on styrofoam for $6 a pound from Publix, or killed and delivered to your plate straight from mother nature herself (albeit with a heck of a shot from a hundred yards away)?  I choose the latter!

boar1

The meat got a great smoke ring, and had an ever so slight gamey taste – which is NOT a bad thing at all.  The company was not so bad either.  Thank you GS , I look forward to the next one.

boar2

Written by jason

March 3, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Dinner

Leave a comment